BMX’s future on display as young stars shine at National Championships

BMX’s future on display as young stars shine at National Championships


The future of BMX and other cycling disciplines was on display at the FIRST Windows & Doors BMXNZ National Championships at the East City club in Auckland on Saturday as the 8 to 12 year old girls and boys raced for titles.

BMX has produced a succession of riders who have gone on to represent New Zealand in road and track cycling, including retired Pro peloton riders Julian Dean and Greg Henderson and current national track squad member Raquel Sheath.

Cambridge clubmates Meg Cannon, a podium placegetter at last year’s World Championships in Azerbaijan, and Oscar Newnham won the nine year girls and boys titles.

Meg Cannon, from the Cambridge club, in action in her podium performance at the world championships last year, took out the 9 years girls title at the First Windows & Doors BMXNZ National Championships at the East City club in Auckland. (Credit: Nico van Dartel).

Deacon Connor from North Harbour just managed to hold off a final straight surge from Tauranga’s Bruno Nemedi to take the 10 year boys crown.

In another close tussle where officials had to refer to the electronic timing, Gracie Owen of Paeroa resisted the strong challenge of Renae Coleman-Savage from Hawkes Bay to win the 12 year girls.

Tyler Waite from Hawkes Bay came from behind to beat North Harbour’s Jesse Inglis in the 12 boys.

Te Awamutu twins Luca and Sophie Penny continued their domination of their age group, finishing first and second in the eight girls.

Penny, Cannon, Paiton Taylor from Sunset Coast in the 11 year girls and Luke Brooke Smith of Whangarei in the 11 boys, all retained championships won at New Plymouth 12 months ago.

Racing concludes on Sunday with national honours in the Challenge classes for the youngest competitors from five to seven years, the cruiser class (larger diameter wheels), as well as a Superclass for elite riders.

Day 2 Finals:

Male, 8 years: Ben Anderson (East City) 1, Nixon Banks (Hamilton) 2, Max Hei Hei (Sunset Coast) 3. 9 years: Oscar Newnham (Cambridge) 1, Riley Smart (North Canterbury) 2, Rourke Boyle (North Harbour) 3. 10 years: Deacon Connor (North Harbour) 1, Bruno Nemedi (Tauranga) 2, Daniel Mason (Tauranga) 3.  11 years: Luke Brooke-Smith (Whangarei) 1, Blaise Boyle (North Harbour) 2, Korban Manava (Capital) 3. 12 years: Tyler Waite (Hawkes Bay) 1, Jesse Inglis (North Harbour) 2, Noah Walker (Cambridge) 3.

Female, 8 years: Luca Penny (Te Awamutu) 1, Sophie Penny (Te Awamutu) 2, Asher Nepia-Anderson (Gisborne) 3. 9 years: Meg Cannon (Cambridge) 1, Nicola Mapu (Hamilton) 2, Beth Walker (Cambridge) 3. 10 years: Madeleine Hunter (Mountain Raiders) 1, Millie Waite (Hawkes Bay) 2, Tamai Riwhi (Alexandra) 3. 11 years: Paiton Taylor (Sunset Coast) 1, Molly Inia (Te Awamutu) 2, Nikita Clarke (Waitakere) 3. 12 years: Gracie Owen (Paeroa) 1, Renae Colman Savage (Hawkes Bay) 2, Hannah Mason (Tauranga) 3.

Full results:

Video here: 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *